Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education
Loading Events

« All Events

OEP SIG June webinar – student-generated OER: tapping into cognitive surplus to support open pedagogy

25 June @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm AEST

Speakers

Dr Mais Fatayer, Learner Experience Design Manager (University of Technology Sydney)

Dr Eseta Tualaulelei, Senior Lecturer in Early Childhood Curriculum and Pedagogy (UniSQ)

When

Tuesday 25th June

Melbourne, 12:00pm AEST
Sydney, 12:00pm AEST
Brisbane, 12:00pm AEST
Adelaide, 11:30am ACST
Perth, 10:00am AWST
Auckland, 2:00pm NZST

Participants outside Australia: convert to your local time here.

The event

This interactive webinar will be a community discussion about a recent journal article examining two Australian case studies about OER-enabled pedagogy.

We will discuss how educators can tap into higher education’s cognitive surplus to enable renewable assessments. Our discussion will then explore how these practices support social constructivist models of teaching where students learn to create and share open learning resources for diverse communities.

The article we will discuss is:

Fatayer, Mais, and Eseta Tualaulelei. 2023. “Making the Most of Cognitive Surplus: Descriptive Case Studies of Student-Generated Open Educational Resources” Education Sciences 13, no. 10: 1011.

During this event, participants will engage with these themes through:

  • A short introduction by the authors, Mais and Eseta
  • Brief reflective commentary on each extract from the authors’ perspectives
  • Shared group discussion about themes highlighted by these extracts
  • Close readings of key extracts from the article
  • Concluding remarks from the authors

All are welcome. If you have time, we recommend reading the article beforehand, but this is optional and not a requirement for attending.

Register to attend

Details

Date:
25 June
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm AEST
Event Tags:
, ,
Website:
https://latrobe.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEvd-qpqDkoHNUqzKoHytKpue83BqZsRQJR

Venue

Zoom

Organiser

Open Educational Practice SIG

Comments are closed.

Institutional Members