



# Monday 30 November 2015, 12:45pm to 1:25pm

Minutes of the Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education. (ascilite) held on Monday 30 November 2015 at the Norm Duffy Lecture Theatre, Curtin University, Perth WA.

In attendance: Caroline Steel (President and Chair), Dominique Parrish (Vice President), Janet Buchan (Lourdes Hill College), Mark Northover (Auckland University of Technology), Sue Gregory (University of New England, Alan Soong (National University of Singapore), Chris Campbell (University of Queensland), John Egan (University of Auckland), Allan Christie (Blackboard), Liz Coulter (University of Auckland), Sandra Barker (University of South Australia), Mark Bassett (Auckland University of Technology), Cathy Gunn (University of Auckland), Eva Heinrich (Massey University), Michael Henderson (Monash University), Barney Dalgarno (Charles Sturt University), Sue Bennett (non-member), Gregor Kennedy (University of Melbourne), Mathew Hillier (Monash University), Elaine Huber (Sydney University of Technology), Jason Lodge (University of Melbourne), Rob Phillips, Carol Russell (University of Western Sydney), Michael Sankey (University of Southern Queensland), Teck-Keong Seow (National University of Singapore), Philip Uys (Charles Sturt University), Julie Willems (Monash University) and Trish Andrews (Bold Learning).

Apologies: Mark Nichols (Treasurer)

# A. Preliminary Business

# A1. Caroline Steel welcomed all members in attendance and declared the meeting open.

## A2. Acceptance of 2014 AGM Minutes (Caroline Steel)

The ascilite AGM 2014 Minutes were made available to ascilite members prior to the meeting by email to all financial members of the Society and on the Society's website.

There were no amendments to the minutes.

PROPOSED RESOLUTION (2015#1):





That the minutes of the 2014 AGM be accepted as a true and accurate record of the meeting.

Moved: Helen Farley

Seconded: Mark Northover

Show of hands: In favour

#### A3. Business arising from the Minutes (Caroline Steel).

There was no business arising from the previous meeting minutes.

## **B.** Executive Business

#### B1. Annual Report from the President (Caroline Steel)

The 2015 Annual Report from the President was made available to ascilite members prior to the meeting by email to all financial members of the Society and on the Society's website.

Caroline Steel asked if there were any questions in relation to the President's Report. There were no questions.

PROPOSED RESOLUTION (2015#02):

That the annual report from the President to the 2015 AGM be accepted.

Moved: John Egan

Seconded: Allan Christie

Show of hands: In favour

#### B2. Financial Reports (Dominique Parrish)

The 2015 Treasurer's Report was made available to current members prior to the meeting by email to all financial members of the Society and on the Society's website.





Mark Nichols asked if there were any questions in relation to the Treasurer's Report. There were no questions.

PROPOSED RESOLUTION (2015#03):

That the Treasurer's Report of the Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education for the financial year ending on 30 June 2015 be accepted by the members.

Moved: Mark Northover

Seconded: Allan Christie

Show of hands: In favour

#### B3. Financial Statements 2014/2015 (Dominique Parrish)

The 2014/2015 Financial Statements were made available to ascilite members prior to the meeting by email to all financial members and on the Society's website.

Dominique Parrish asked if there were any questions in relation to the Audited Report. There were no questions.

PROPOSED RESOLUTION (2015#04):

That the 2014/2015 Audited Report of the Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education for the financial year ending on 30 June 2015 be accepted by the members.

Moved: Allan Christie

Seconded: Sue Gregory

Show of hands: In favour

#### B4. Income & Expenditure Budget 2016 (Dominique Parrish)

The proposed calendar year 2015 Income & Expenditure Budget was made available at the meeting as a slide.





Dominique Parrish asked if there were any questions in relation to the budget forecast and there was one comment from a member that an anticipated budget deficit for 2016 is acceptable in light of the Society's overall positive financial position.

PROPOSED RESOLUTION (2015#05):

That the 2016 Income and Expenditure Budget of the Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education be accepted by the members:

Moved: Philip Uys

Seconded: Liz Coulter

Show of hands: In favour

# C. Executive Elections

## C1. Executive Committee Elections (Caroline Steel)

The President reminded members that nominations for the Executive Committee were called on 17 September 2015 and nominations were called for the position of President and Vice President/Executive Officer and up to four non-office bearer positions on the committee and this was followed by a poll conducted from 7 to 28 October 2015.

The President added that due to the Treasurer, Mark Nichols retiring recently, the position of Treasurer had to be unexpectedly opened for nominations from 17 to 30 November. Only one nomination for Treasurer had been received from Allan Christie.

The President announced the results of both polls as being that <u>Dominique</u> <u>Parrish</u> was elected unopposed for a two year term as President; <u>Sue Gregory</u> was re-elected unopposed for a two year term as Vice President/Executive Office and <u>Allan Christie</u> was elected unopposed as Treasurer for a one year term as per the constitutional rule in relation to election group terms.

In addition, <u>Alan Soong</u> and <u>Janet Buchan</u> were both re-elected to the committee for two year terms and <u>Helen Farley</u> was newly elected for a two





year term and <u>Julie Willems</u> was newly elected to the committee for a one year term due to the constitutional rule in relation to election group terms.

PROPOSED RESOLUTION (2015#06):

That Dominique Parrish, Allan Christie, Sue Gregory be elected to the Executive Committee as President, Treasurer and Vice President/Executive Officer respectively for the specified terms and that Alan Soong, Janet Buchan, Helen Farley and Julie Willems also be elected to the Executive Committee as ordinary members for the specified terms:

Moved: John Egan

Seconded: Mark Northover

Show of hands: In favour

The President congratulated the elected nominees and thanked the retiring committee members, John Egan and Liz Coulter for their past work on the committee.

It was noted that Caroline Steel retired as President at this point in the meeting as a result of the elections.

# D. Annual Conference

## D1. 2015 Annual Conference Update (Caroline Steel)

Caroline Steel reported that there were 256 delegates attended the 2015 conference at Curtin University.

## D2. 2016 Annual Conference Update (Sandra Barker)

Sandra Barker (University of South Australia), convenor of the 2016 conference reported on preliminary plans for the conference to be held in Adelaide.

**ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2015** 





# E. Other Business

## E1. Other Business (Caroline Steel)

Caroline Steel asked members if there was any other business and Rob Phillips suggested to the Executive Committee that it consider adopting a conference registration for retired members.

No other business was discussed and Caroline thanked members for attending the meeting.

The meeting closed at 1:25pm