Minutes



Date & Time: Monday 4 December, 12:45pm – 1:30pm NZDT.
Chairs: Chris Campbell (2023 President), Michael Cowling (2024 President)
Venue: Rakaia, Te Pae Convention Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand.
Present:

Name	Affiliation
Stephanie Wilson	University of Sydney
Dewa Wardak	University of Sydney
Alison Casey	University of Sydney
Sue Tucker	Charles Darwin University
Steve Leichtweis	University of Auckland
Rosina Merry	Te Rito Maioha Early Childhood New Zealand
Lauren Morton-Hay	Te Rito Maioha Early Childhood New Zealand
Rachael Adlington	University of New England
Jacqui Thornley	University of Auckland
Mathew White	University of Melbourne
Lisa Bugden	University of New England
Helen Farley	University of Canterbury
Caroline Steel	University of Queensland
Robert Vanderburg	Central Queensland University
Keith Heggart	University of Technology Sydney
Kwong Nui Sim	Central Queensland University
Cory Del Ponte	University of Melbourne
Shannon Rios	University of Melbourne

Andrew Valentine	University of Melbourne
Linda Corrin	Deakin University
Michael Henderson	Monash University
Eva Heinrich	Massey University
Darrall Thompson	University of Technology Sydney
Stephen Abblitt	Key Path Education
Michelle Vanderburg	Central Queensland University
Camille Dickson Deane	University of Technology Sydney
Ben Halpin	Central Queensland University
Saher Ali	Torrens University
Linda Daniels	Whitecliffe
Kristen Richards	Imagin Ed
Ben Burgess	Imagin Ed
Mei Li	University of Melbourne
Oriel Kelly	University of Auckland
Meredith Hinze	University of Melbourne
Amanda White	University of Technology Sydney
Pennie White	Deakin University
Kelly Galvin	Swinburne University
Thu Ha Bui	Deakin University
Hai Min Dai	Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Thomas Cochrane	University of Melbourne
Chris Deneen	University of South Australia
Dawn Gilmore	RMIT
Rebecca Scriven	Edith Cowan University

Shen Zhang	Auckland University of Technology
Elisa Bone	University of Melbourne
Monika Byrne	University of Auckland
Mark Schier	University of New England
Michael Cowling	Central Queensland University
Andrea Warner	University of Auckland
Kay Hammond	Auckland University of Technology
Chris Campbell	University of New south Wales
Sandy Barker	University of South Australia
Sue Gregory	University of New England
Elaine Huber	Sydney University
Lynn Gribble	University of New South Wales
Danielle Logan-Fleming	Griffith University
Simone Poulson	Griffith University
Alisa Kolesnikova	Grammarly
Gloria Gomez	Oceanbrowser @ university of Sydney

1. Acknowledge and Welcome (CC)

• The President, Chris Campbell, provided Welcome to everyone.

2. Acceptance of the 2022 AGM Meeting Minutes

• All members were emailed the AGM documents on 28 November 2023.

- Chris asked for questions and for a member to move a motion to accepts last year's AGM meeting minutes.
- Motion for the meeting minutes from 2022 be accepted as a true and accurate record of the meeting.
 - a. Move to accept Petrea Redmond (USQ)
 - b. Seconded: Sandy Barker (UniSA)
 - c. Show of hands passed the motion

NO BUSINESS WAS ARISING FROM THE 2022 MINUTES.

3. 2023 President's Report

- **Chris Campbell** presented a brief summary of the 2023 President's report highlighting;
 - 2200 members rise from 1800 last year and from 750 from Dec
 2019, mainly due to
 - the growth of unlimited institutional membership, and
 - the operationalisation of the TELAS initiative
 - APubs has also been operationalised and facilitated by Thomas
 Cochrane (University of Melbourne)
 - A 2023 Research School was organised and run this year
 - There has been a growth in the number of executive portfolios (11 portfolios in 2018 to 22 in 2023)

4. AGM Treasurers report

- Mark Schier, as the treasurer, commented on and presented the Treasurer's Report for the 2023 calendar year and the Financial Statement for the fiscal year to members for discussion, comment and approval
 - Mark highlighted the move from MYOB to Xero
- Mark tabled the motion for the Financial Statement from 2023 be accepted as a true and accurate.
 - a. Move to accept: Chris Deneen (UniSA)

- b. Seconded: Amanda White (UTS)
- c. Show of hands passed the motion to accept the Financial Statement

5. 2024 Forecast Budget

- Mark commented that the Executive has prepared this budget for 2024 which we would like to present.
 - Increased spending to invest in the members.
- Asked to move that the forecast budget for 2024 be accepted by the members.
 - a. Move to accept: Saher Ali (Torrens)
 - b. Seconded: Robert Vandeburg (CQU)
 - c. Show of hands passed the motion to accept the Budget Proposal for 2024

6. 2024 Executive Committee

- Chris Campbell announced the results for the 2024 Executive.
 - For the position of President, Michael Cowling (CQU), was elected unopposed.
 - For the position of Vice President, Elaine Huber (USyd) was elected.
 - Kwong Nui Sim (CQU), Sue Gregory (UNE) and Hazel Jones
 (Griffith) were re-elected to the Executive committee.

The outgoing President then congratulated the elected nominees and handed the chair to the President-elect, Micheal Cowling.

The President-elect thanked the outgoing President, Chris Campbell congratulated the newly elected members.

• The new President **Michael Cowling** then briefly presented what was ahead in the ASCILITE strategic plan, showed a draft Venn diagram

and invited the membership to share ideas and opinions on what they would like to see in the new plan that will be developed over the next 12 months.

7. 2023 conference

 Michael Cowling spoke about the success of the 2023 conference so far in terms of attendees and celebrated the organisation by conference organisers Cheryl Brown & Kathryn MacCallum and the conference team.

8. 2024 conference

 Michael Cowling handed over to Thomas Cochrane, head of the conference organising committee for 2024, who discussed the location of the 2024 conference (Arts West in Melbourne) and introduced a short video welcoming ASCILITE members to attend in 2024.

9. Closing

- Michael Cowling declared the meeting closed.
- Time: 1.15pm.

Chair(s):

Chris Campbell

Michael Cowling

ASCILITE President 2022 - 2023

ASCILITE President 2024 - 2025

Minutes compiled by:

Kop

Roger Brown ASCILITE Secretariat