Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education

Call for Nominations to the Executive Committee & Notice of AGM

This is an invitation to ASCILITE members to stand for election to the ASCILITE Executive Committee. Current ASCILITE financial members who value the services and professional community engagement offered through our not-for-profit Society, and who believe they have the time, commitment and dedication to work in a voluntary capacity to contribute toward a variety of ASCILITE activities, are invited to nominate for election to the Executive Committee.

You will find details of current Executive Members here and a summary of Executive roles and responsibilities are outlined in the document Prospective Executive Committee Member Information. ASCILITE members nominating for a position on the committee must complete the 2016 Executive Committee Nomination Form.

For further information on the work of the Society or Executive membership please contact the President, Vice-President or any Executive Committee member. We will be happy to answer your questions.

Election Groups

The ASCILITE Executive Committee has up to nine elected members as follows:

  • Three office bearers: President, Vice-President/Executive Officer and Treasurer
  • Six non-office bearer members

As per the ASCILITE Constitution, the Treasurer along with 3 committee members form Group 1 are elected in one year while the President, Vice-President/Executive Officer and 3 other committee members form Group 2 and are elected the next year. Elections are for two year terms.

Call for Nominations

This year, the Call for Nominations is for Group 1. Consequently, nominations are called for Treasurer and up to 3 non-office bearer committee positions. Within Group 1, the current Treasurer, Allan Christie has indicated he will be standing for election for the position of Treasurer for the full two year term.  Allan has been acting in the capacity of Treasurer on a casual basis since December 2015. In addition, two of the current non-office bearer committee members in Group 1, namely Mark Northover and Chris Campbell have also indicated that they will be seeking re-election. The third non-office bearer position in the group is currently held by Julie Willems who was co-opted to the committee in December 2015 and Julie has also indicated she will be seeking a two year term.

Members are welcome to nominate for any position in Group 1 by following the nomination process below.

How to Nominate

To nominate, read the Prospective Executive Committee Member Information and then print and complete the 2016 Executive Committee Nomination Form.

You must be a current ASCILITE member to be a nominee and the form requires you to be nominated and seconded by two other current ascilite members. A photo and brief bio must accompany your nomination form.

Email the completed form and accompanying documentation to the Returning Officer at by 7 October 2016.

Election Schedule

The Call for Nominations is open to all financial members from 20 September to 7 October 2016.

Votes are cast online and voting will be open to all financial members from 10 October to 24 October 2016. Members will be sent candidate information with a voting link on 10 October.

Votes are tallied and candidates are notified of results by 25 October 2016.

The results of this ballot will be announced at the ASCILITE AGM during the ASCILITE 2016 Conference.

Postal Ballots

Any financial member who is unable to cast a vote online can email their name and postal address to the Returning Officer at by 5pm on 14 October 2016 in order to receive a postal ballot paper by mail.

Notification of Annual General Meeting

Notice is hereby given of the 2016 ascilite Annual General Meeting (AGM) to be held on Monday 28 November 2016 at 10:30am. The meeting will be conducted at the ASCILITE 2016 annual conference, Adelaide Convention Center, South Australia. AGM papers will be distributed via email on 20 October and a limited number of hard copies will be available at the meeting.

Institutional Members