Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education

2016 ASCILITE Award Winners

Innovation Award

The ASCILITE Innovation Award celebrates work undertaken by an individual or team of people in support of the exemplary and research informed use of technologies for teaching and learning in tertiary education. Innovation is defined as a new idea, device or process Something original that “breaks into” teaching and learning in the tertiary sector.

In 2016, there were two outstanding winners and two commendations:


  • Danny Liu, The University of Sydney
  • Project Team: Prof Adam Bridgeman, Zinnia Sahukar, Dr Mel Keep, Kevin Samnick, Ruth Weeks, A/Prof Abelardo Pardo, Dr Kathryn Bartimote-Aufflick, A/Prof Charlotte Taylor.
  • Project: The Student Relationship Engagement System


  • Sasha Nikolic, University of Wollongong
  • Project Team: Christian Ritz, Farzad Safaei, Tom Goldfinch, Wanqing Li, Mark J.W. Lee (Charles Sturt University)
  • Project: Improving Transnational and Industry-supported Student Engagement Through Immersive Videoconferencing in a 3D Virtual Environment.

Highly Commended

  • James Oldfield, Unitec Institute of Technology
  • Project Team: Karen Haines, JJ Purton Jones, Lisa Simperingham, Wayne Sebalja, Ken Liu, Sarah Kirk, Linda Keesing-Styles, Simon Nash
  • Project: Supporting teachers in new collaborative learning spaces.


  • Lisa Tee, Curtin University
  • Project Team: Kate Rodgers
  • Project: MyCourseMap – Making curriculum visible through a multidimensional interactive map to engage students in learning outcomes and career relevance.

The ASCILITE community congratulates all of the winners for their excellent work!

Fellow Award

The ASCILITE Fellow Award recognises the outstanding contributions of individual ASCILITE members in the exemplary use of, and/or research into, technologies for teaching and learning in tertiary education. From at least two of the following categories:

  • Professional mentoring
  • Professional leadership
  • Sustained innovations
  • Quality research

This year's Fellow award went to Dr Carina Bossu (University of Tasmania).

Carina has been recognized and acknowledged for her contributions in the following areas:

  • Led a two year Cat 1 OLT Research Project on Open Educational Practices (OEP) to enhancing learning and teaching in higher education (2010).
  • Led a one year Cat 1 OLT Research Project developing open and free courses on Curriculum Design for Open Education (2014).
  • Collaborated on two other Cat 1 OLT funded projects as a partner.
  • Involved in several institutional, national and international collaborations related to OEP, research, consultancies, PhD supervision and mentoring.
  • Leadership in OEP in Australia: been considered a key representative of OEP research and developments in Australia nationally and internationally.
  • Involvement in research and collaboration: been involved in several multi institutional projects to research OER for learning and teaching, and as a result has published extensively in this area.
  • Community engagement: Through support and engagement with the OEP community nationally and internationally, the recipient advocates for increasing open practices so that learners can benefit from free content and flexible learning.

Carina will become the first "ASCILITE Champion" in 2017 and will undertake several projects or activities throughout the year as part of the revised ASCILITE Fellow award scheme. Further information on the Fellow Award may be viewed on the ASCILITE website.

Congratulations Carina!

Award for Excellence in Learning Analytics

The ASCILITE Learning Analytics SIG operates an awards program to recognise excellence in the practical application of LA to enhance learning and teaching. A key driver for the Awards program is to create and share resources about effective LA practices. We want to give a voice to all who are working with LA to improve learning and teaching – whatever the scale of their endeavours.

In 2016 there were two finalists and one winner of the award:

Supporting students' ownership of their learning with analytics (Winner)

  • Submitted by: Carl Reidsema, Lydia Kavanagh, Esther Fink, Peter Sutton and Melanie Fleming (University of Queensland)
  • Description: A student facing approach to learning analytics. Supporting students learning through innovative tools; Journey Maker, Learning Pathway and Dashboard. The Faculty has trialed more active approaches to learning in order to increase student engagement. Learning analytics are used to assist students to improve their own learning in this process.
  • Link: Supporting students' ownership of their learning with analytics

Academic Writing Analytics (Finalist)

  • Submitted by: Adam Aitken (UTS)
  • Description: AWA – Academic Writing Analytics, an online learning application using Natural Language Parsing techniques to analyse student analytic and reflective writing, and then giving feedback at sentence and whole text level. Its text analytics is informed by rhetorical and genre analysis of academic writing.
  • Link: AWA – Academic Writing Analytics

Incorporating cognitive and design science into institutional design (Finalist)

Best Paper Award

Each year, the best outstanding papers are recognized for their high standards.  This year the award went to the following recipients:

You will find these papers in the 2016 Conference Proceedings (17Mb) on pages 338 and 300 respectively.

A Best Poster is also selected by conference delegates each year and this year's recipients were James Brunton, Mark Brown, Eamon Costello, Ann Cleary, Lorraine Delaney, Seamus Fox, Jennifer Gilligan, Lisa O'Regan and Jamie Ward for their poster "Staying the distance: Using digital readiness tools to support effective transitions into higher education for flexible learners".

Congratulations to all those who contributed to these outstanding papers and poster.

Institutional Members