Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education

The learning in learning analytics: in what way do learning analytics actually improves learning?

Date & Time: 10 December 2019, 5pm AEDT, 4pm AEST, 2pm Singapore, 7am CET.  You will find other time zones for the session here.

Abstract: Nowadays, many higher educational institutions try to implement learning analytics to improve their education and the learning experiences of students. However, the successful uptake of learning analytics is not without challenges. In order to better understand the issues higher educational institutions face whilst implementing learning analytics, it is necessary to know how exactly learning analytics improve learning and how we can measure whether ‘it works’. In other words: how do we measure the beneficial effects of learning analytics? This presentation provides some insights of different categories of learning higher educational institutions might want to improve, what the underlying measures are, and how to get a better, multi-perspective view on learning.

Presenter: Justian Knobbout is a Dutch PhD candidate researching the organizational capabilities that higher educational institutions need to build in order to let students really benefit from learning analytics. The PhD research is in its final stage which involves the validation of the designed Learning Analytics Capability Model. Justian is also chairman of the Dutch Special Interest Group Learning Analytics – promoting the uptake of learning analytics by Dutch institutions – and lecturer Business Engineering.

Registration:  You can register for this session here.  Pre-registration allows us to send you a quick reminder prior to the event and to email you a link of the video recording immediately after the session.

Institutional Members